Okay my review and summary will be very brief tonight because my sister and her fiance are visiting for a couple of days and they like too go on Netflix and I only have a laptop and they have no laptop so it should be obvious why I can't do a detail summary. Instead I'll try and make this as quick as I can. Let's begin
The Relic begins with an anthropologist discovering a tribe in South America who give him some strange soup who eats it like an idiot than goes crazy for something he is sending to a museum in Chicago but doesn't find it on the ship that's transporting his goods because it was left behind and is send by plane later on. The ship that the idiot was on is found six weeks later with everyone dead and one of the detectives think it's was a drug hit because he's too lazy and we're introduced to one of our main characters Vincent whose a homicide detective and very superstitious which is about as subtle as a hammer to the face. Also when the crates left behind arrive at the museum we're introduced to our other main character Margo and our asshole Greg, we also learned that the crates contain leafs covered in fungus. A security is later killed by our monster of the film while he's smoking some weed, proving that weed does kill "Smoke weed and you'll get your head rip off by a monster ". The movie than rips off Jaws for a bit as the museum is having a big event during all this and they have to find the "killer" before that, the police find and kill a crazy hobo and think he did but shock of shocks he's not and the real monster attacks the event creating panic in the museum which come off as very good disaster movie-esqe scene and turning off the power via a shutdown trapping our potential victims inside. For the rest of the movie we follow the characters trying to get out of the museum as well as our main trying to stop the monster as it kills several people including the asshole(NOOOOO!!!!!) until our main characters kill the monster by blowing it up, we also learn the monster was the idiot all along(ZOMG!!!) who was mutated by the fungus. And they all live happily ever after, well except for all the people who die because of idiot eating the strange soup,dick.
The biggest problem I do have with this film is the characters, their either bland, boring, or cliche. The pacing is also a little off in some areas but not as bad as other movies I've seen,Squirm anyone? However The Relic is based off of a novel so maybe those flaws are better. What this movie does do well is the creepy atmosphere and some good scares, the monster itself is also well design and although the CGI stuff is pretty bad the non-CGI bits are very well done. I actually do recommend this movie it's a good creepy film with a interesting monster and good mood. This is WinterDeathPeach saying peace out.
No comments:
Post a Comment