Saturday, 30 November 2013

Top 5 Favorite Zelda Games

 Well it's the end of the month and now it's time for my favorite Zelda games, I did want to do this early this week but things came up so yeah. Also I plan to do a review on Link between worlds but I want to play a little on Hero Mode first so I may do that next week. And before we begin I like to say that Ocarina of Time well not be on this list, while I do see it as one the best games every made it's just not one of favorite. With that out of the way let's begin.

5.A Link to the Past(GBA)
   

  So speaking of Link Between Worlds we go back to it's predecessor Link to the Past which is arguably one of the best SNES games ever made. Now you maybe wondering why I'm going with the GBA version instead of the SNES version, simple I never beat that version because of my stupidity. What I remember most this game(on the SNES anyway) was just hoe big it was I first played this when I was about 6 or 7 so I hadn't really saw a game world this huge, unless of course you count a game with lots of levels like DKC2 but I'm not. I spent hours just exploring the world trying to figure out what to do in certain areas, and if you read my dumbest moments than you'll know I never got past Death Mountain so my experience with the SNES version is pretty lacking. I never truly played this game until I got it on the GBA when I actually gain some brain cells so I never got stuck on obvious spots. Anyway part of the reason this isn't higher on the list is because of the boss as two of the boss are just bigger version of regular enemies(one is fine but two) and two bosses are just eye balls yes because that is a true sign of creativity. But that is really a minor problem but I think later games in the series and other 3D games have spoiled me, for example I could be wrong but I believe all the bosses and sub-bosses  in the handheld games are not based on regular enemies. Another small problem I have is the fact you can explore the world before the first dungeon this brothers me because you want to do stuff before the first dungeon but you're unable to in the other games I like the world opening up after your first big accomplishment. Now that minor problem can be fix by just letting you do a lot of stuff right from the get go like the original game  Other than that there really isn't anything I would consiered bad about this game and would recommend it for everyone.

 4. Skyward Sword(Wii)
 When the Wii first came out one of the things people wanted was a game that offered sword fighting and we really got a game like that, or at least not one that had a conformable experience anyway.  But than a mere five years later Nintendo released Skyward which gave us what we wanted...or did it. I have two big problems as well as a couple of small ones with Skyward Sword that stopped it from being at number three. The first was my own experience with the controls as there were several times where I couldn't get an item to work the way I wanted, the worst time was in the third part in the final fight with Ghirahim where no matter what I did I couldn't thrust. I was so pissed off I actually beat my Wiimote on my TV remote and broke the latter. Now normally this wouldn't have piss me off so much if not for the fact that my friend play through this game "LYING DOWN"....doesn't that completely defeat the purpose of the Wii. Anywho my other big problem with Skyward was the pacing I really felt that the first 5 to 10 hours was kinda boring, I would have like more of Skyloft to explore at first(maybe let it have it's own dungeon and what do you first do in Faron woods play hide and seek...yes I know there's more to it than that shut up. Another small problems I have are the area I would have a like for them to be contented by land and would have like for the sky area to be a little bigger. One last thing I think there should have been an option to switch over to a classic controller for people like myself who had problems with the remote. Other than that I don't really have any other problems  the characters and story are great as well as the graphics and audio another great experience.

3.The Wind Waker(Game Cube)
Okay to start off part of the reason I love this game so much is the BOAT!!!  Yes I just loved sailing around this world on the King of Red Loins, sailing around, using the cannon, finding treasure, and exploring the island was such fun when I first played this game. When the Wind Waker first came out there was some controversial about the graphics but I really like them I feel it gives the game alot of character that the previous games didn't. My biggest complaint with the Wind Waker is the difficulty I never really found it got hard till a little over half way and no that's not counting the nonsense with the tri-force. Yeah I don't have to say about this one other than it's great and I don't feel it deserve any of the hate it got.

2. Twilight Princess(Game Cube/Wii)

  One thing I've heard some people say in the last few years is that we need a dark gritty mature Zelda game, any one who says that is an idiot. Why simple we already got a mature Zelda right here at number two. A little seg way I hate it when people think mature means blood and guts and swearing and nudity, no it does I pretty sure something No More Heroes isn't mature just because of it's blood and guts. Anyway back to Twilight Princess which is probably the closest we will get to a dark and mature Zelda, just by the graphics you can till isn't going to be a pleasant journey for our hero. The story takes it's self very serious or at least as serious you can get with a shapshiftting pretty boy and an imp trying to save the world depression. Now I first played this on the Game Cube but later finished it on the Wii and I can say I feel it was better on the Game Cube but funny enough I didn't get as frustrated as I did with Skyward Sword. Now we get to it's biggest flaw how linear it is. This is what stopped it from being my favorite Twilight Princess is downright ridiculous in how linear it is you can't really explore until you get the Master Sword and you can't chose to go to one temple over the other at any point, what a load. But despite that huge problem I still fell that Twilight Princess is one the top three games in the series and should be played all.

1.Majora's Mask(N64)
Yeah I bet alot people didn't see this coming but yeah this right here is my favorite Zelda game that I never get tried of. But why you may ask simple really, one reason would have to be the sense of dread which at the time I never really in fact I still do see this game offering alot of dread. Whether it's the dead fill Ikana Canyon, the absolute cold from Snow Head or just simple the impending doom of that freaky moon. The visual and music are sure to creep anyone out. Another thing I love is the content, you think with a smaller world(at I think it's smaller) than most 3D Zelda games there wouldn't be much to do but this game delivers. The most prominent side quest are all the mask to collect and what to do with each mask which well should anyone unfamiliar stump for hours. Also like Twilight Princess this is the closest we will get to a dark mature Zelda game because Majora's Mask is very dark and twisted. A few of these come just from the masks themselves such as the Zora Mikau trying to bring back the voice of another Zora named Lulu only to fail and die with his comfort coming from a song. And of course lets not forget the nightmare fuel like the begening whe Link becomes Deku Link for the first time.My only real problem is that's Nintendo cut coroners with this game such as using alot of Ocarina of Time's graphics so because of this the game feels a little like an expansion pact at times. But this despite that I can't bring myself to dislike this game and can't wait for Nintendo to a remake of some kind, don't  pretend it's not going happen it will.

 So there you have it the the favorite Zelda games of some random guy on the internet that could be wasting his time with something a little more constructive but where would be the fun in that. This is WinterDeathPeach saying peace out.      

No comments:

Post a Comment