Saturday, 30 November 2013

Top 5 Favorite Zelda Games

 Well it's the end of the month and now it's time for my favorite Zelda games, I did want to do this early this week but things came up so yeah. Also I plan to do a review on Link between worlds but I want to play a little on Hero Mode first so I may do that next week. And before we begin I like to say that Ocarina of Time well not be on this list, while I do see it as one the best games every made it's just not one of favorite. With that out of the way let's begin.

5.A Link to the Past(GBA)
   

  So speaking of Link Between Worlds we go back to it's predecessor Link to the Past which is arguably one of the best SNES games ever made. Now you maybe wondering why I'm going with the GBA version instead of the SNES version, simple I never beat that version because of my stupidity. What I remember most this game(on the SNES anyway) was just hoe big it was I first played this when I was about 6 or 7 so I hadn't really saw a game world this huge, unless of course you count a game with lots of levels like DKC2 but I'm not. I spent hours just exploring the world trying to figure out what to do in certain areas, and if you read my dumbest moments than you'll know I never got past Death Mountain so my experience with the SNES version is pretty lacking. I never truly played this game until I got it on the GBA when I actually gain some brain cells so I never got stuck on obvious spots. Anyway part of the reason this isn't higher on the list is because of the boss as two of the boss are just bigger version of regular enemies(one is fine but two) and two bosses are just eye balls yes because that is a true sign of creativity. But that is really a minor problem but I think later games in the series and other 3D games have spoiled me, for example I could be wrong but I believe all the bosses and sub-bosses  in the handheld games are not based on regular enemies. Another small problem I have is the fact you can explore the world before the first dungeon this brothers me because you want to do stuff before the first dungeon but you're unable to in the other games I like the world opening up after your first big accomplishment. Now that minor problem can be fix by just letting you do a lot of stuff right from the get go like the original game  Other than that there really isn't anything I would consiered bad about this game and would recommend it for everyone.

 4. Skyward Sword(Wii)
 When the Wii first came out one of the things people wanted was a game that offered sword fighting and we really got a game like that, or at least not one that had a conformable experience anyway.  But than a mere five years later Nintendo released Skyward which gave us what we wanted...or did it. I have two big problems as well as a couple of small ones with Skyward Sword that stopped it from being at number three. The first was my own experience with the controls as there were several times where I couldn't get an item to work the way I wanted, the worst time was in the third part in the final fight with Ghirahim where no matter what I did I couldn't thrust. I was so pissed off I actually beat my Wiimote on my TV remote and broke the latter. Now normally this wouldn't have piss me off so much if not for the fact that my friend play through this game "LYING DOWN"....doesn't that completely defeat the purpose of the Wii. Anywho my other big problem with Skyward was the pacing I really felt that the first 5 to 10 hours was kinda boring, I would have like more of Skyloft to explore at first(maybe let it have it's own dungeon and what do you first do in Faron woods play hide and seek...yes I know there's more to it than that shut up. Another small problems I have are the area I would have a like for them to be contented by land and would have like for the sky area to be a little bigger. One last thing I think there should have been an option to switch over to a classic controller for people like myself who had problems with the remote. Other than that I don't really have any other problems  the characters and story are great as well as the graphics and audio another great experience.

3.The Wind Waker(Game Cube)
Okay to start off part of the reason I love this game so much is the BOAT!!!  Yes I just loved sailing around this world on the King of Red Loins, sailing around, using the cannon, finding treasure, and exploring the island was such fun when I first played this game. When the Wind Waker first came out there was some controversial about the graphics but I really like them I feel it gives the game alot of character that the previous games didn't. My biggest complaint with the Wind Waker is the difficulty I never really found it got hard till a little over half way and no that's not counting the nonsense with the tri-force. Yeah I don't have to say about this one other than it's great and I don't feel it deserve any of the hate it got.

2. Twilight Princess(Game Cube/Wii)

  One thing I've heard some people say in the last few years is that we need a dark gritty mature Zelda game, any one who says that is an idiot. Why simple we already got a mature Zelda right here at number two. A little seg way I hate it when people think mature means blood and guts and swearing and nudity, no it does I pretty sure something No More Heroes isn't mature just because of it's blood and guts. Anyway back to Twilight Princess which is probably the closest we will get to a dark and mature Zelda, just by the graphics you can till isn't going to be a pleasant journey for our hero. The story takes it's self very serious or at least as serious you can get with a shapshiftting pretty boy and an imp trying to save the world depression. Now I first played this on the Game Cube but later finished it on the Wii and I can say I feel it was better on the Game Cube but funny enough I didn't get as frustrated as I did with Skyward Sword. Now we get to it's biggest flaw how linear it is. This is what stopped it from being my favorite Twilight Princess is downright ridiculous in how linear it is you can't really explore until you get the Master Sword and you can't chose to go to one temple over the other at any point, what a load. But despite that huge problem I still fell that Twilight Princess is one the top three games in the series and should be played all.

1.Majora's Mask(N64)
Yeah I bet alot people didn't see this coming but yeah this right here is my favorite Zelda game that I never get tried of. But why you may ask simple really, one reason would have to be the sense of dread which at the time I never really in fact I still do see this game offering alot of dread. Whether it's the dead fill Ikana Canyon, the absolute cold from Snow Head or just simple the impending doom of that freaky moon. The visual and music are sure to creep anyone out. Another thing I love is the content, you think with a smaller world(at I think it's smaller) than most 3D Zelda games there wouldn't be much to do but this game delivers. The most prominent side quest are all the mask to collect and what to do with each mask which well should anyone unfamiliar stump for hours. Also like Twilight Princess this is the closest we will get to a dark mature Zelda game because Majora's Mask is very dark and twisted. A few of these come just from the masks themselves such as the Zora Mikau trying to bring back the voice of another Zora named Lulu only to fail and die with his comfort coming from a song. And of course lets not forget the nightmare fuel like the begening whe Link becomes Deku Link for the first time.My only real problem is that's Nintendo cut coroners with this game such as using alot of Ocarina of Time's graphics so because of this the game feels a little like an expansion pact at times. But this despite that I can't bring myself to dislike this game and can't wait for Nintendo to a remake of some kind, don't  pretend it's not going happen it will.

 So there you have it the the favorite Zelda games of some random guy on the internet that could be wasting his time with something a little more constructive but where would be the fun in that. This is WinterDeathPeach saying peace out.      

Thursday, 21 November 2013

Top 5 Favorite Zelda Villains

  Wow I didn't want to wait this long for the next post but I don't think I gotten right into doing these blogs yet, that or I'm too obsess with watching all the YuGiOh series. Anyway like last time I don't have anything clever to say so lets begin.

 5. King Bublin(Twilight Princess)
    To be fair the reason I including this guy is because I like the idea of a recurring minor villain whom the main character fights against several times.  The reason I like that is because it shows our main character being badass or simply just to show off how they think in fights, for example in YuGiOh 5ds the duels between Yusei and Ushio, however these can backfire and do really stupid stuff like have our main character take out like 3 powerful guys in one hit each, that's not cool that's lazy. As for Bublin I do also like his boss fights(can the second even be considered a boss fight) especially the first because it was something that people really wanted which was a battle on horse back or at least done right that is. So yeah nothing special but it is something I like in minor villains so yeah.

  4. Ganon
                                             (This pic is awesome I just had to use it)

Okay at first I wasn't going to include the warthog king because well as far as characters go I think Ganon is really weak. Okay not weak just really boring. However I than use my brain and realize "Yeah he might be boring but his boss fights aren't". Which is true for alot of villains you might think their boring or lame or pathetic but if there's a cool fight involve most people will overlook that. As for my favorite fight with Ganon I probably go with the three fights with him in Twilight Princess which was pretty epic, though if we could count Demise as a Ganon boss fight(which is stretching way too far) from Skyward Sword I would chose that over the sword fight in Twilight Princess.

3.Majora's Mask(Majora's Mask)
 I'm not sure if this should count as the villain of the game or if it should be Skull Kid because he's the one that did everything but screw it.  Not much to say for the evil mask mostly because the reason I like it so much is because of all the twisted stuff it does to the people of Termina. I mean really this all powerful mask gets so much joy(I guess) by just screwing with everyone, from making a swamp poisonous to turning a soon to married man into a kid to creating a harder than you think fish, seriously you wouldn't think Gyorg would be that hard he's a FISH!!! Anywho the only way I could do Majora's Mask any justice would be to list everything it does and comment on them but that would be stupid for a top (add number) list.

 2.  Ghirahim (Skyward Sword)
  Oh Ghirahim you lovable psycho how could anyone not love him. It's because of villains like Ghirahim why we love villains so much, sometimes we don't complex characters as our villains we sometimes just want a crazy evil person who knows their evil and crazy and takes huge pleasure in this, and of course Ghirahim is one of those villains. Right from the line "I just beat you to an inch of your life" I've love the guy and I hope Nintendo brings him in some way, I'm 95% sure he will be in the next Smash Bros. game. Also aside from the his personalty the boss fights with him were also great and made me love Skyward Sword because the couple of hours I was kinda off and on about the game but after the first boss fight I realize just how much fun the game could be, than again I love one on one fights. So yeah Ghirahim he's another crazy villain that makes us happy.

 1. Zant(Twilight Princess)

   I'll admit it's hard to say why Zant is my favorite but I just love the guy. Maybe's it for his design which I fells has a very simple look but yet is also very menacing in it's way. Maybe's it because he actually has a reason to hate one of our main characters has he was devastated at Midna becoming the next ruler instead of him, which gives him a more personal reason to hate our heroes as opposes to just seeking power or domination. Maybe it's because he takes on the powers of the other bosses which I really did like because it does show how powerful he is in creating these monster and using their powers at will which is really something you don't see with other main villains. Whatever the reasons Zant is my favorite and I'm pissed off he wasn't the main villain of Twilight Princess I mean why did Ganon have to be the main villain, they could have just used Ganon as a means to end. But oh well I can't change this stuff I just keep building that rage inside me.

  Their you have my favorite villains in the Zelda and I'm sure there's some odd choices but oh well I gave my reason so yeah. Anyway Link Between Worlds is out tomorrow and I can hardly wait, why couldn't there be no work tomorrow instead of today, really what lousy luck. Anywho this is WinterDeathPeach saying peace out.
 

Saturday, 16 November 2013

Top Five Favorite Zelda Sidekicks

  Okay I really didn't want to wait this long for my next post but oh well it happened nothing I can do about it now. Seeing as I have nothing clever to say lets begin.

 5. Ghost Zelda(Spirit Tracks)-First off I like to say I really like the DS Zelda games and I bring this up because a couple of years ago I saw on a several sites people saying these games sucked and other than them being a little easy I really can't see why anyone would say they sucked. Anyway part of the reason I really like Ghost Zelda is because she's a more active heroine than we're used to seeing in the Zelda games as she actually travels with Link and helps with the puzzle in the Tower of Spirits, while most just stand around or do nothing to really help Link. Another reason is because of some of the humor they have about it in the beginning like Ghost Zelda flipping out over the idea of traveling with Link, I do wish they a little more of this but oh well.

 4. Ciela(Phantom Hourglass)- Okay to be honest the reason I like Ciela is because we finally have a fairy that's useful. Because first we had Navi who was a little useful and really annoying and than we had Tatl who wasn't really annoying but she didn't know anything. However in Phantom Hourglass we finally had fairies that we're of paratical use, though to be fair you'll probably find more use out of Leaf seeing as how he'll power up your sword.

 3. Ezlo(The Minish Cap)- To be fair I'm not really sure what I like so much about Ezlo but I think it's just because of the ability to shrink down which was something I really liked about The Minish Cap. So because I don't have much to say Ezlo I'll take this as an opportunity to question what's Elzo purpose in the Zelda series now, I mean first it was to say where Link's cap came from but the Link in Skyward sword has a cap. I mean what happen did Link's cap get set on fire so no one remembered that the first hero wore a cap.

 2. Linebeck(Phantom Hourglass)- Oh Linebeck you were such a surprise for me I really didn't think I would like you so much but well here he is a number 2.  First off I just love the contrast between Link and Linebeck, we have a hero trying to save his friend than the world teamed up with a treasure hunter who could care little for what's going on. Linebeck is also just hilarious, the first meeting between the two is a good example with Linebeck just strangling Link for no good reason and than going on why Link struggles to stand.  Thankfully Linebeck isn't just there for comedy as he does have some character development as shown at the end when he chooses to have his ship instead of alot of treasure. 

 1.Midna(Twilight Princess)- Yes the loveable adorable little imp, I mean even if she isn't one of your favorite Zelda characters how could anyone not like Midna. Anywho like Linebeck Midna is just a very likable character with her attitude towards Link to her very twisted behavior at times. And of course unlike other female sidekicks she was very helpful to Link's adventure even if she did treat him as a slave but of course that was part of her charm, and like Linbeck it was nice that wasn't just a one note character which of course could have easily happen though I'm pretty sure Nintendo stop doing that in the 2000's.

 There we have it my favorite sidekicks in the Zelda series, yeah a little brief but I'm very good at putting things to words,"well why did you do a blog in the first place dumbass" is what I'm sure some people are thinking, simple I don't know anything about making videos and vlogs would just involve me studdering alot. Anywho next time I'll do my favorite villains in the Zelda series and hopefully it will be before a week because I like to do a list of my favorite games before Link Between Worlds comes out. Until than this is WinterDeathPeach saying peace out.

Friday, 8 November 2013

Personal Dumbest Moments in the Zelda Series

 Well it's been a while since I did a post, anyway since there's a new Zelda game coming out this month I though I do a few post about my favorite series and what better way than to have people laugh at me...wait. This is my dumbest moments in Zelda and when I say dumb I mean downright stupid.

  Okay I've really only a have few really stupid moments happen but lets go all the way to my first experience with Zelda with a Link to the Past. When I was playing through Link to the Past back on the snes I never got up to Death Mountain, why yo may ask because I was too brain dead to know that  when you change in the rabbit just go north a few feet change back to normal and jump down the ledge. So I spent hours(2 I think) trying to figure out where you had to go as bunny Link. It wasn't till years later that I beat Link to the Past on the GBA and even than I had to use a walkthrough.

 This next one is not just the dumbest Zelda moment but the dumbest thing that will make you question if I've actually ever played a game before. When I was first playing Ocarina of Time I never got past the first dungeon, how is this possible you may ask. Is it because I couldn't figure out the spider web part nope, is it because I couldn't beat the boss no, it's because I couldn't get past the Deku Scrub because I didn't know how to use the shield. Yes you did indeed read that right I was too stupid to press the R button, let me repeat I WAS TOO STUPID TO PRESS THE R BUTTON. I think this pretty much speaks for it's self.

 My last one is actually something that just happen last year. I was playing the Minish Cap on my 3DS when I got to the part where you have to find the Elemental Sanctuary I spent roughly two hours trying to find it because I was too stupid to see the archway inside the castle which I must've past like 8 times. Now I realize why I wear glasses because I'm so blind I can't see a simple door.

  Well next time I do a post about my favorite sidekicks(traveling companions? whatever) in the series. On till than this is WinterDeathPeach saying peace out.